PDA

View Full Version : Ed Koch Bridge ? Letters to the Editor

Speedbird1
2011-03-30, 06:14 AM
I enjoyed seeing Phil's discussion about the renaming of the Queensboro/59 St. Bridge. Ed Koch was not even a mediocre mayor; he was awful. I was a city teacher at the time and recall how he was anti-unions. Remember the MTA transit strike during his administration? I can't recall one good thing he accomplished. He is being rewarded by Bloomberg for his loyalty to him and his outrageous policies. How many millions in new signs will this cost while the city is on the brink? An example: Bloomberg wants to spend $20 million to hire new teachers while he plans on firing over 6,000 in September. Does this make sense? This is like naming DCA after Reagan who tried to bust the Air Controllers Union. I am fed-up with politicians with their nonsense. Politicians who get caught, hardly ever spend any jail-time. In fact, Charlie Rangel, a tax-cheat, was honored last night by the President in Harlem.This explains why we on this site are interested in airlines and their logos. It takes our minds off of the world's dismal state for a few hours daily. TSA Security guards and others sadly don't understand this. To them, we are all suspicious worthy of harassment.

megatop412
2011-03-30, 10:48 AM
Amen, brother

Next they'll rename the Empire State Building the "Ridge-Ashcroft Tower to protect America"

NIKV69
2011-03-30, 01:22 PM
Koch was an above average Mayor and would have been probably regarded much better if not for the corruption stuff toward the end. I could care less about unions. We don't need them anymore and they are a huge part of the reason states are in deficits. He was pro law enforcement and socially liberal. Mostly I see him as Rudy light. He did a good job but don't see the need to change the name of a huge city Landmark. IMO it will always be the 59th st bridge. Why in this climate city lawmakers are wasting time on something like this makes no sense.

PhilDernerJr