PDA

View Full Version : Job rant

eric8669
2011-01-26, 12:30 AM
let me preface this, I work in IT, User support

so, today I thought I had a job. it was temp to perm but it was a job. I get to the office and the manager expects me to get on the phones 5 minutes after I get there without any knowledge of the Company systems or procedures. Now I ask you, How I am I suppose to help a user without knowing anything. It is usually common practice to be trained or to shadow a seasoned employee for at least a day or even a week before going solo. I did get one day of training after practically begging for it, but the manager thought other wise. I've been in the IT industry for over 8 years and have never heard of such a practice. Each new job I've been on there is some type of training or something to familiarize yourself with company procedures.

This job lasted one day,

Next............

sporky
2011-01-26, 12:41 AM
Damn sorry to hear that. I am quite shocked at the lack of professionalism from that company, and being a fellow IT worker I find this highly unusual. I can understand the point of view that if they are paying you then you should be earning that pay right away, but not knowing about the systems you are supposed to help an end-user with an issue on would also show that user that the company doesn't care about them. I have never worked the phones in a help desk, but did work closely with other companies IT support personel who assumed that since I worked for a major software company that I automatically knew everything about each and every one of our hundreds of products. Not a good situation and I sympathize with you completely.

Good luck on the continuing hunt. How is the overall job market back east? I have been out of a job for coming up on almost a year, though I really didn't start looking too hard until last Sept/Oct. A few nibbles, but nothing biting.

-Tad

megatop412
2011-01-26, 12:57 AM