PDA

View Full Version : LGA and JFK runway usage tomorrow (6/28), Brookville safety?

Tis
2010-06-27, 06:17 PM
Hi everyone,

my name's Tis Meyer and I'm an aviation photographer from Switzerland (see my website, http://www.planepics.org for some of my work). I'm currently staying in Manhattan, and since I've finished the sightseeing part a bit early, there's space for spotting tomorrow.
So please excuse the very short notice on my questions :-)

Now I've plowed through the extremely helpful threads and spotting guides here (thanks also for the BOS one by the way) and I think I figured out what I'll do tomorrow: Morning at LGA's A (or B) depending on runway usage, afternoon at JFK's Mounds (Point B).

And here come the questions:

1) Are there any usual runway operating schemes at both airports (what's used for takeoff/landing, what for heavies/mediums)? Accuweather predicts winds from the SW for all of tomorrow. I am aware of the 31L closure in JFK, so according to the graphics posted in the news article, I assume at least one of the 22s will be used for landings tomorrow? Any ideas how LGA will most likely operate?

2) For the mounds, instead of embarking on a bus adventure, I'd love to take the LIRR train to Laurelton and walk from there. That's only a mile - I just walked 3 miles accross Portland/ME with a 40lbs backpack on, so it really is a piece of cake. However, as a NY first-timer I'm a little afraid of getting in the wrong neighbourhoods with my expensive camera equipment. While Brookville looks quite pleasant on Google Street View, I just want to make sure: Is it reasonably safe to walk there alone in the afternoon/evening before sunset? I'm fully aware that these questions may sound a little silly, and I don't mean to offend anyone - but since New York's image in Europe is mainly created by tales of gangster rappers and scenes from CSI NY, I prefer to be a little cautious... :lol: