PDA

View Full Version : Pre-arranged aircraft changes, is it normal?



nwafan20
03-02-2008, 07:51 PM
Hey guys,

I just went on NWA's website to view my bookings, and noticed that in the past 3 days (since I last checked it), they did 2 aircraft changes...

1st one was DTW-IAD was changed from a DC-9-30 to a DC-9-50 (increase in capacity)
2nd one was MCO-DTW was changed from a 757-300 to a 757-200 (decrease in capacity)

My question is, is this normal for airlines to do this? I don't think I have ever had pre-arranged aircraft swaps before...

PhilDernerJr
03-02-2008, 08:06 PM
There are many reasons for an aircraft to be swapped, and for some of them, it's not uncommon to see the need to do so in advance.

T-Bird76
03-02-2008, 08:13 PM
I've never had that happen to me, even with all my travels, the EQ type has always stayed the same.

Mateo
03-02-2008, 08:52 PM
Operationally for NW, it's probably not much of a switch, since the flight crew remains the same, and the 753 probably has 1 more FA than the -200. I wish airlines would be able to flexibly schedule aircraft like this - i.e., if you have a 737-700 and a 737-800 both going out on a 5 hour turn, and the 73G is oversold while the 738 has 20 empty, why shouldn't you be able to switch it up with 24 hours of forethought.

Air Canada used to routinely swap out CRJs (mainline operated then) with Tango 320s.

hiss srq
03-02-2008, 09:14 PM
At US we do lots of swaps with Charlotte flights between 737's and Airbuses and even the 757 untill the FAA and Port gave a song and dance about slots and not being allowed to use heavy's out of LGA without prior notice.

RDU-JFK
03-04-2008, 01:56 PM
At US we do lots of swaps with Charlotte flights between 737's and Airbuses and even the 757 untill the FAA and Port gave a song and dance about slots and not being allowed to use heavy's out of LGA without prior notice.

Everytime I've flown and there was an equipment swap it involved US to/from CLT/LGA--booked an A320 to get an A319, or an A321 to get an A320. The last three times I tried to fly a US A321:
-Flight was cxl'd due to MX
-Aircraft switched to A320
-My connection got in early and I hopped on a flight to JFK instead of LGA.

Someone at US doesn't want me flying on an A321!!

mirrodie
03-04-2008, 03:42 PM
It can happen. Has happened on my flights with AA and NW in the past, but never with WN :wink:

nwafan20
03-04-2008, 05:06 PM
It can happen. Has happened on my flights with AA and NW in the past, but never with WN :wink:

Well, I got a 73G instead of the scheduled 735 one time! ;)

:D

JetBlueAirwaysFan
03-05-2008, 07:27 PM
I've had it happen. I was swapped from an MD-88 to a CR7.

hiss srq
03-06-2008, 04:21 PM
[quote="hiss srq":ffe32]At US we do lots of swaps with Charlotte flights between 737's and Airbuses and even the 757 untill the FAA and Port gave a song and dance about slots and not being allowed to use heavy's out of LGA without prior notice.

Everytime I've flown and there was an equipment swap it involved US to/from CLT/LGA--booked an A320 to get an A319, or an A321 to get an A320. The last three times I tried to fly a US A321:
-Flight was cxl'd due to MX
-Aircraft switched to A320
-My connection got in early and I hopped on a flight to JFK instead of LGA.

Someone at US doesn't want me flying on an A321!![/quote:ffe32]
Ok, fine I will stop playing games wioth your type and schedule. ;) We actually had a 321 out of commision for the better part of the month in Jan. because of an accident.

Alex T
03-07-2008, 11:41 AM
Same here, AA and WN has ALWAYS swapped out on me.


Though, swapping a 737-700 to another 737-700 is considered an aircraft swap to SWA simply because of the actual wording, an aircraft was swapped, though for most you guys I believe it means different type of aircraft?


nwafan20- I LUV when I get a 73G over a 735 , not a huge fan of it hahaha.

Tom- You have had swaps on SWA too :-P

Alex

T-Bird76
03-07-2008, 01:57 PM
Same here, AA and WN has ALWAYS swapped out on me.


Though, swapping a 737-700 to another 737-700 is considered an aircraft swap to SWA simply because of the actual wording, an aircraft was swapped, though for most you guys I believe it means different type of aircraft?


nwafan20- I LUV when I get a 73G over a 735 , not a huge fan of it hahaha.

Tom- You have had swaps on SWA too :-P

Alex

A 737 is a 737.....I don't count it as a swap. But I know you keep a track of my travels in your "Alfano, where is he going log book."

JetBlueAirwaysFan
03-07-2008, 04:39 PM
I was flying SWA from ISP-MCO one time and our plane was really late getting in from MDW. What did they do? They swapped us on a 737-700 parked at the gate. I belive it was "The Maryland One" as well.