PDA

View Full Version : First attempt at night shots

MarkLawrence
2007-12-30, 10:56 AM
My first attempt at night shots yielded one fairly decent shot - I need to work on the editing...and...get the darned things to stand still for a few minutes!! :lol:

http://www.tavustheman.com/images/E170-C-FEIQ-KPBI-12292007.jpg

T-Bird76
2007-12-30, 11:03 AM
Not bad Mark, what was your ISO setting and F stop? Keep the ISO to 100. Is that from West Palm for FLL? You should go to FLL one night once all the gates are full and get a nice wide angle shot of the CO and B6 terminal full of planes, if you can manage it the Delta terminal to. With the city in the background that would be a killer shot.

MarkLawrence
2007-12-30, 11:11 AM
That was at PBI Tom - from the top of the parking garage. I used the standard night setting on my D50 - ISO turned out at 640 and it turned out a F/5.3. I'm still learning my camera - even after having it for over a year. I got out for 1/2 hour last night - living 10 minutes from PBI it was the easiest for a night shot trial. I'd love to try that at FLL with the city in the background.

T-Bird76
2007-12-30, 11:38 AM
Mark don't use the night settings that are built into the camera always use manual. ISO 640 is going to give you to much noise and F5.3 is going to overexpose the shot. Use the camera's manual setting, ISO 100, and play with the F stops, the higher the F stop the less overexposued it will be but also the longer it will take to get a proper shot in the dark light.

I'd also recomend getting a handheld wired or wireless remote. I got a wired one for about 15 bucks, its worth it. Now when you take the shot set the shutter in manual mode to "bulb", what this will do is keep the shutter open as long as you're holding down the remote shutter, the shutter will close when you release it. Play with it a few times to see how long you need to keep the shutter open to get a proper shot.