PDA

View Full Version : Photoshop logo job

nwafan20
2007-10-04, 12:32 AM
I threw this together in Photoshop tonight. It's a logo for our churches Youth Group (named Reality). Our churches slogan is "Real. Christian. People." so its also playing off of that.

Tell me what you think. I haven't done too much non photo editing work in Photoshop so I am rather new at it. What do you guys like, what do you dislike, what can be improved?

Thanks.

http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p75/nwafan20/Reality.jpg

wunaladreamin
2007-10-05, 07:14 PM
I think it looks really good. Great cropping job around the eye. I also love the colors and the detail you caught in the eye itself. Good job bro. :borat:

Mellyrose
2007-10-05, 07:45 PM
I like it....it's very clean and I think you did a great job.

If you want a more "microscopic" in-depth crit, this is what I would suggest:

Tone down the gradient on the bottom words. I like the depth you've created in "Reality" and the gradient is making it a touch too busy and bright. Perhaps you can reduce the opacity of the overlay (that's what you used, right?)

You did great work with the eye as well. The only thing I see as a challenge is using a photo in applications of a logo. It doesn't always work and you might come to a few roadblocks with it....

That said....if you're intent on keeping the eye, I would also change the color of the blue in the gradient overlay to more closely match the teal in the eye and pull the logo together and make it look integral.

Also, make sure (with the ruler tool) that all of those horizantal lines are lined up where they should be. I might be wrong but they look to be a few pixels off.

Just my opinions :)

emshighway
2007-10-05, 08:08 PM
Looks great but if you are going to use it as letterhead or on clothing you may want to cut down on the number of colors. More colors equals more expense at printers.

Mellyrose
2007-10-05, 10:33 PM