PDA

View Full Version : JFK Terminal 4 - 2005-05-09

shamrock838
2007-05-11, 08:33 PM
Greetings to all ...

Being on vacation this week … and a lovely week it was ... I took the AirTrain from Jamaica to JFK on Wednesday, May 9, and got off at Terminal 4 since they have generous viewing platforms at each end of the upper (Departure) level. I arrived around 11am … which I’ve never done before ... I usually arrive at an airport on weekends later in the day.

The trip turned out to be a bust ... probably for the following reasons: - (1) I got there at a low volume time for flight/passenger traffic so there was little to see ... photograph ... or view through mini-binoculars; (2) security seemed v-e-r-y much in evidence … since business was slow? Then ... I may not have noticed them as much on past visits later in the day when flight/passenger volume is much higher; (3) in the previous 24-48 hours there had been the Fort Dix, NJ terrorist arrests … DUH … what was I thinking in coming to JFK at all?

QUESTION: - Did anyone else notice a spike in airport security after the Fort Dix thing earlier this week? Was the TSA on higher alert for anyone appearing even remotely suspicious that might have normally passed unnoticed?

OK … I first walked out to the right wing of Terminal 4 upper level … where it overlooks the Delta Terminal 2-3 complex. BTW I always look for the proximity of security before taking out my camera ... saw nothing nearby ... so I got two quick tele shots of colorful airliner tail fins … one of my spotter sub-specialties … really “subversive”! I then tucked my camera (a Canon D60 SLR with interchangeable 100-300mm tele) safely away as I n-e-v-e-r walk about with camera or binocs around my neck or even handheld.