PDA

View Full Version : Can you please lend a hand?

mirrodie
2006-04-26, 11:40 PM
http://www.jetphotos.net/showphotos.php?offset=30&where=search|-2|-2|-2|-2||30|2|||||||-2|-2|-2|-2|||30|1||-2|187||||all|2||||||-2|||2||||||

Can someone please explain how this works? I am still relatively new to digital phtography so I am really haveing a tough time with editing. I know it takes practice, but here is my question

If you look at the majority of my most recent shots, all of which I upload to jetphotos, I really feel the majority are OVERSHARPENED. Is it just me? Yet, after many rejects for undersharp, I feel I am really missing something. I feel there is such a thing as too sharp and oftentimes, I see something as sharp yet screeners see it as blurry. Any comments?

moose135
2006-04-27, 11:21 AM
First, those are some nice shots, Mario.

I know what you mean about looking oversharpened. I've had the same problem with determining the "sweet spot" between soft and oversharpened. Most photos that get accepted look a little oversharp to me. I think it's a matter of practice, and if you plan to keep uploading, learning the nuances of the screeners. Keep up the good work!

mirrodie
2006-05-03, 02:01 PM
I really feel the majority are OVERSHARPENED. Is it just me?

thanks John..

can anyone else provide some insight please? Tbird thinks i have fear of hte jaggies and I think he's right. BUt I really feel most of my jetphotos images are too sharp whereas if I sharpen them less, I get rejected.

do I need a new eye doc?

Mr Smith
2006-05-03, 07:59 PM
they are jagged, no doubt about that! try reading the tutorial i wrote up in another thread here.

Tom_Turner
2006-05-03, 08:51 PM
I really feel the majority are OVERSHARPENED. Is it just me?

I haven't looked at these shots yet Mario, but the aesthetic we find on these sites we upload to is slightly skewed towards oversharpened to begin with, so generally speaking, no, in my opinion, its not just you.