Thread: Spotting in Houston

Senior Member Aviation.High.Guy's Avatar

Spotting in Houston

I have a business trip coming up in Houston and would like to work in a day of spotting. Can anyone recommend spotting locations at IAH and /or HOU ? Which airport would you recommend?

Thanks much!
    -Don B.

It's been a few years since I was there last.
    Check out this forum: http://www.houstonspotters.net/
    If nothing changed, you can shoot from the garage at IAH, but you must call ahead and let them know how long you will be there, and what type of vehicle you have with you.

There are some gems at HOU, but you need some local knowledge for the spotting localse.

Hi Don,

I am a Houston resident and spotter here. Check out the website mentioned above. The spotting resource you should find useful is http://www.houstonspotters.net/resources/. Call the airport security at 281-230-1300 if you shoot at IAH. You will have to let them know you're shooting at any of the locations in the guide. They will ask your vehicle info, license info, and how long you will be there. You can usually just tell them you're roaming around various spots throughout the day. Also, Rankin Road is a good spot for departures. It's a big ass hill that overlooks the 15's. Below are a couple sample images I got from this spot. For IAH, you will want something flexible, but with a lot of reach such as a 70-300 at a minimum. The Rankin Rd spot requires a bit more reach. Most folks have a 400mm minimum at that location.

Winter is good when they are using 15's

Most of the time, they are taking off towards you.

The garages offer some pretty good views as well. If you ever seen anything from, or shot at PHX, it's the same above viewpoint. I haven't shot at a garage at IAH in over three years, but here is something from 2011. Wow, just looking through my old stuff, I can see just how far I have come in my shooting.

HOU Hobby Airport