Thread: People Assuming You Do Free Photo Shoots

People Assuming You Do Free Photo Shoots

Last night, I received another asinine message from a Facebook 'friend' who wanted me to photograph her kids - free of charge. While she didn't say free, this was the wording: "Next time you're back home, remember I want you to shoot my kids if you don't mind - thanks." I am not a pro photographer by any stretch, nor do I ever want to make a living exclusively in this field. I do make some decent money doing real estate photography on the side, but I charge between $100 - $200 per house. Anyways, this request got me thinking about how your friends always assume you will take their pictures for free because you have a camera.

I replied to this 'friend' (I actually can't stand her, but her husband and I are childhood friends - so I tolerate her) and advised her that while I would be happy to set up a shoot with her kids, there would be a charge involved. The great thing about Facebook is that you can see when people see your messages. She read it, started typing a response and then went offline. I haven't heard anything since. So, I sent her another message with a few bullet points why I am going to charge her. Keep these in mind the next time you are about to offer your services for free, regardless of your skill level.

Shutter life: Your camera doesn't have infinite lives like a video game cheat. Usually, a few hundred thousand clicks. I shoot at least a 100 shots when I do a shoot of anything, from sunrises to people.

Travel cost: What this idiot friend didn't realize is that I live in Houston, and she lives in New Orleans. Sure, I have great flight benefits with the airlines, but how am I going to get to her? I almost always have to either rent a car when I go home, or use my parents' car which still costs me gas money. Locally, I can't go anywhere in Houston without traffic jams. That time and wear and tear of vehicles is worth more than friendship.