Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 46

Thread: Flight Sim

  1. #31
    Senior Member Jared Blech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Long Island, Ohio
    Posts
    603
    Kenny, You're correct...That's XPlane 10 running at 4.7 ghz overclocked. I have it running on some pretty nice settings!
    Jason, Try XPlane 10, theres a 32 and 64 bit version when you install!
    Probably the youngest spotter ever to walk up the face of the mounds.
    Jared B. -Boces Aviation Ops Student, Jericho NY

  2. #32
    Senior Member yankees368's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1,562
    Yea, I might have to. Poor FSX.
    Follow me on Twitter and friend me on Facebook.

  3. #33
    Senior Member Derf's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Miller Place N.Y.
    Posts
    4,534










    The three most common expressions in aviation are, "Why is it doing that?", "Where are we?" and "Oh Crap".

  4. #34
    Senior Member Jared Blech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Long Island, Ohio
    Posts
    603
    Nice images Fred!
    Probably the youngest spotter ever to walk up the face of the mounds.
    Jared B. -Boces Aviation Ops Student, Jericho NY

  5. #35
    Senior Member megatop412's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Philadelphia(south Jersey, actually)
    Posts
    3,277
    Quote Originally Posted by Jared Blech View Post
    Kenny, You're correct...That's XPlane 10 running at 4.7 ghz overclocked. I have it running on some pretty nice settings!
    Jason, Try XPlane 10, theres a 32 and 64 bit version when you install!
    Jesus Herbert Christo, 4.7Ghz for Flight Sim! You got a video card in that rig?

  6. #36
    Senior Member Jared Blech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Long Island, Ohio
    Posts
    603
    Yea here are my computer specs! lol I'm actually struggling to run x plane 10 on almost max settings with good fps!
    i7 3930K at 4.7 ghz
    EVGA GTX 670 4GB FTW
    32GB corsair Vengeance ram
    H100i water-cooling system for the cpu
    Coarsair 850W psu
    ASUS Sabertooth X79 LGA 2011 mobo
    Samsung 840 pro ssd 256gb
    WD 2TB Hard Drive
    15 fans
    Coolermaster HAF X case
    and some other stuff
    Probably the youngest spotter ever to walk up the face of the mounds.
    Jared B. -Boces Aviation Ops Student, Jericho NY

  7. #37
    Senior Member Billbo1970's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    190
    Quote Originally Posted by Jared Blech View Post
    Yea here are my computer specs! lol I'm actually struggling to run x plane 10 on almost max settings with good fps!
    i7 3930K at 4.7 ghz
    EVGA GTX 670 4GB FTW
    32GB corsair Vengeance ram
    H100i water-cooling system for the cpu
    Coarsair 850W psu
    ASUS Sabertooth X79 LGA 2011 mobo
    Samsung 840 pro ssd 256gb
    WD 2TB Hard Drive
    15 fans
    Coolermaster HAF X case
    and some other stuff
    That hardware struggles with X10 on Max settings!? SHeesh!

  8. #38
    Senior Member Jared Blech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Long Island, Ohio
    Posts
    603
    Quote Originally Posted by Billbo1970 View Post
    That hardware struggles with X10 on Max settings!? SHeesh!
    Yupp! I thought people were kidding when they said that there is no desktop computer that can run Xplane 10 on max settings. I'm going to post a video later!
    Probably the youngest spotter ever to walk up the face of the mounds.
    Jared B. -Boces Aviation Ops Student, Jericho NY

  9. #39
    Senior Member Billbo1970's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    190
    I know a flight sim takes a lot of processing power, as do intensive graphics, but come on! It's just sloppy coding if that configuration can't do it. Look what they used to be able to do w/ 8-bits & 64K of RAM back in the day....

  10. #40
    Senior Member Jared Blech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Long Island, Ohio
    Posts
    603
    After many months of tweaking, X-plane 10 is starting to meet my expectations graphics wise. The blue haze is a new atmospheric scattering effect that many other simmers are fooling around with... Feel free to ask any questions!




    Probably the youngest spotter ever to walk up the face of the mounds.
    Jared B. -Boces Aviation Ops Student, Jericho NY

  11. #41
    Senior Member megatop412's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Philadelphia(south Jersey, actually)
    Posts
    3,277
    Jared, I think you need to start saving up for one of those Cray supercomputers that can handle several petaflops per second- then you will be able to max out X-Plane

    On a Flight Sim note, I'm fully immersed in my latest FS9 addon, PMDG's 747-400. The bundled liveries aren't all that but fortunately you can download additional free liveries from their website. It's extremely involved with a functioning FMC(that I am failing to master), and the flight model is amazing. But, I did fly the 13L approach in the British Airways example 2 weeks ago and managed to set it down properly in front of the triple hangars- too bad nobody was at T5 to capture it

  12. #42
    Senior Member tlabranche's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    League City, Texas, United States
    Posts
    273
    Awesome stuff! I just put X-Plane 9 on my Macbook. It is okay, but I miss FS9. I will run boot camp and install Windows 7. I know my Mac won't run FSX, but it should handle FS 2004 with no issues. I find the flight mechanics and controls of X-Plane to be too stiff. Plus, FS9 is 10 years old and you can still get awesome scenery packages and awesome aircraft.
    Timothy LaBranche

    See my photos on:
    Timothy LaBranche.com
    Flickr
    JetPhotos.net

  13. #43
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    7

    Fly a Redbird flight simulator

    This started April 1st and is open to anyone who wants to take a challenge!!! Pilots and non pilots!! Take a look.. For those on long island you can try it at Nassau Flyers.


    below is the link to the contest and how to get started!!!
    http://landing.redbirdflight.com/

  14. #44
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    7

    Redbird Flying Cup Challenge!!! Are you up for it!!!

    This started April 1st and is open to anyone who wants to take a challenge!!! Pilots and non pilots!! Take a look.. For those on long island you can try it at Nassau Flyers.


    below is the link to the contest and how to get started!!!
    http://landing.redbirdflight.com/

  15. #45
    Senior Member Derf's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Miller Place N.Y.
    Posts
    4,534


    Just took a flight from Oceana to Farmingdale, here I am over lower manhattan
    The three most common expressions in aviation are, "Why is it doing that?", "Where are we?" and "Oh Crap".

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •