Thread: How important is a university degree for aspiring pilot?

How important is a university degree for aspiring pilot?

Hi there,

I was wondering, how much does it matter whether one has a bachelor's degree or not when applying for a job at airlines? I'm currently studying travel & tourism (B.Sc) with a minor in psychology, does it really matter?

Thx

Maybe some of the pilots here can answer better, but I was under the impression it was pretty important to have a degree. When I was at Purdue my roomate busted his ass to get into the aviation technology program(and he was smart as a whip). He is now an A320 driver for B6.

Wappingers Falls, New York, United States
    One thing that I've always heard about job requirements for airline pilots is that a Batchelors degree is required. They don't tend t care what the degree is in, just that you have one.
    Ben Granucci, Wappingers Falls, NY
    NYCAviation Senior Editor & Director
    On Twitter @blgranucci
    More photos on Flickr
    [email protected]

From what a bunch of friends working at major airlines (i.e. Delta, United, FedEx, SWA etc...) have said, just about any major airline pretty much requires at a minimum a bachelors degree; whether it's a formal requirement or "unspoken" requirement. That being said, I don't think they really care what your degree is in, just as long as you have one.
    Some advice I've heard from pilots is not to put all your eggs in one basket - i.e. get a degree in something other than aviation if you can so that you have something to fall back on should the airline thing not work out/furlough etc...

You can fairly easily get a job at a regional without one, but it certainly helps.

But if you want to move on to a major airline (trust me...you do) you'll almost certainly need a bachelors degree. It doesn't have to be in an aviation related subject though.