Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need help with identifying Aircraft Types (Newbie)

Need help with identifying Aircraft Types (Newbie)

I am a newbie in the aviation world =P
    I'm not very good at identifying planes, so can you guys give me some tips for how? My main ones are Boeing and Airbus....Thank you =D

Follow me on Twitter and friend me on Facebook.

Follow me on Twitter and friend me on Facebook.

Long live the internets! I remember having to go to the library and check out airplane books when I was getting started with this

Thank you so much everyone! I will check the link out now :)

Wappingers Falls, New York, United States
    The printed spotting guide is great, I tend to carry mine around still when I'm out spotting in case I run into any kids. Here are a couple other places to read:

identify airbus from boeing/

aircraft identification

I'm having trouble finding it at the moment, but there was one that I found a few months ago that first separated by class (2 engines under wing, 2 engines on fuselage, 3 engines near tail, etc) and then had a page with the different types in each class explaining the differences.
    Ben Granucci, Wappingers Falls, NY
    NYCAviation Senior Editor & Director
    On Twitter @blgranucci
    More photos on Flickr
    [email protected]

Thanks for the tips mldoc. Ill check the links out and use them when I go to ewr on Saturday. BTW....check your private messages :P

im still not that great with commercial aircraft, but the way I taught myself the military jets was: pick your fav plane and learn everything about it .. know it like the back of your hand. Know all of its distinguishing features and things that make it different from other aircraft. Once you have a "base" you can begin to compare other aircraft to it. So after a while you will be thinking "well it looks like a XXX but has slightly different winglets and shape, so it must be a YYY"