Thread: Air Crash

The show was pretty good but seeing the demise of a beautiful 727 was sad.
    Gene Delaney

i flew that ship N293AS when I was a Champion pilot,especially when I was JFK based, "Big Flo", was a silly name for a beauty like that,they should have trashed an A320 !!!
    The beehive hummm of the JT9D and GE CF680C2,the thunder of the JT8D-17,the rumble of the PW1830 and the high ,thin whine of the PW 545A are all music to my ears!

I had a feeling it was an ex-Champion bird with that paint

Only problem with the show was how limited the generalizability of their findings are. It's pretty rare for no fire to break out after a crash, I guess they came in just shallow enough not to break the tanks open. What was amazing was seeing one of the engines still running at full power

Quote Originally Posted by megatop412 View Post
    What was amazing was seeing one of the engines still running at full power
    It was trying to avenge its MURDER! :P
    General Photography - Website | Instagram
    PlaneCaptures - Website | Instagram

Quote Originally Posted by Cary View Post
    It was trying to avenge its MURDER! :P
    LOL!
    Gene Delaney

Quote Originally Posted by 727C47 View Post
    i flew that ship N293AS when I was a Champion pilot,especially when I was JFK based, "Big Flo", was a silly name for a beauty like that,they should have trashed an A320 !!!
    I wonder if the 320 would have held up as well
    Gene Delaney

It was an interesting show. I wonder why they didn't have cameras on the ground if they were short or long though. Very smart people doing this test for sure but seriously they didn't think about a faster chase plane or having a spare? It would of been the first thing I thought of when setting this up.

Quote Originally Posted by 727C47 View Post
    First I laughed so hard. Then I said wait a minute, where is the love for A320?