Thread: What is Wrong Here?

What is Wrong Here?

Hey all,
    I have a question about some of my shots that I figured you would be able to answer. I shoot with a Rebel XSi and a Tamron 70-300 f/4-5.6 Di VC lens. I went spotting at JFK yesterday, using Tv mode with a mix of Spot and Evaluative metering (which is correct?) and AI SERVO (is this correct?). I shot from North Woodmere Park, so the planes were a bit far away, however, this is how photos would come out (unedited):

A lot of my pictures come out with this blur, and I feel the pictures just aren't crisp and clean. Do you all have any tips here?
    Adam Sheinhaus

Can you post the EXIF data for this photo? Shutter speed, aperture, ISO? I usually use spot metering and always use AI Servo mode when shooting aircraft.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/7085653...n/photostream/

You can see some editied ones on the Flickr photostream as well.
    Adam Sheinhaus

I'm no pro, but when I encountered this, I was usually not following my typical procedure and being careless; but if you're shooting at shutter priority, I'd aim for 1/500, and then adjust your exposure compensation to get your apertures at about 8.0. Use your histogram after each shot (or each plane) to see that the primary peak is down the middle. If not, that's when you adjust your exposure compensation.

I think 5.6 is a little low and wasteful when you're extending your lens to the max. You also need to see if your lens, though it can reach 300mm, can actually shoot EFFECTIVELY at 300mm.
    Email me anytime at [email protected].

IFP, ISP, JFK, IGM, SAN, VCV, LGA, LAX, SEE, LAS
    If you are going to let your cam pick settings I wouldn't use shutter priority. You may as well be shooting manual. Pick the Aperture and let the cam pick the shutter for best exposure. If light is decent and not harsh no need for exp comp. Put it around F8 or so and go from there. You also need to get a bit closer.

Good starting point with good to ideal light would be.

F8