Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Photographing inside and around JFK T3

Photographing inside and around JFK T3

I'm a casual aviation photographer (read: noob) and was hoping all your collective knowledge might give me some guidance.

I enjoyed the TWA open house last week. Sadly, I saw T6 next door being demolished. So when I got home I was curious as to what's happening with Delta's T3, the old PAA Worldport, and read it might meet its fate soon as well.

So as luck would have it, I'm flying to South America on business next week and decided to fly Delta out of T3 in the hopes I could get some photos of the interior and exterior. I know there's plenty of photos online but I'd really like to get some of my own shots. And it seems there's a lot more interest in T3's history now with ABC's Pan Am airing.

Also read the TSA's public statement about photography around security checkpoints, but I don't plan to take any photos in their vicinity anyway. So I guess this basically falls into PA and Delta's jurisdiction and would generally depend on who might notice or care.

So what's the general feeling about photography inside the terminals, specifically, T2/T3? I see people taking cell-phone pictures in airports all the time, but I've never seen anyone have a run-in or be questioned. I'd like to shoot with a real camera, though, so it would be pretty obvious.

If the general feeling is "don't do it", is there any way to obtain a permit or at least a letter from Delta, PA or airport management in advance?

Many thanks!
    Believe It!

Don't do it!
    Manny Gonzalez
    Thrust Images | General Photography | R.I.P. Matt Molnar 1979-2013
    BRING BACK THE KJFK/KLGA OBSERVATION DECKS

There is unfortunately no wayt o obtain permission in advance. They will not approve it.
    Email me anytime at [email protected].

Does the PA really have a problem with people taking pictures inside the terminal?
    Steve Furst

View my work @

Furst Edition Photography