Thread: Night time shots

Night time shots

I'm a novice when it comes to photography. I'm looking to pick up a camera that is capable of taking quality night time shots from an aircraft. Any recommendations that come in under $500. Also maybe a combo that shoots quality night time video or is that just wishful thinking. Thanks

Program Coordinator

Re: Night time shots

Night time shots are hard without a camera that allows manual options. Night time shots from an aircraft are exceedingly difficult. Most of the big nice night aerials are taken from blimps or very steady choppers. For a $500 budget I'd seriously consider looking at a film camera and a fast prime lens. For digital I'd say you're probably out of luck - though maybe an older DSLR model (Canon XT, XTi, Nikon D60 or equiv) will do ok.

Here's my two cents:

- Having a camera that has manual mode is key. It allows you the set the shutter speed and aperture for a correct night exposure. I'm a fan of Nikon, so you maybe be able to pick up a used D200 for around $400 - $500 or so. If you do go with the D200, look for something that has a low shutter count (around 10,000 - 20,000 clicks, even lower is better). I believe the shutters for Nikon are rated for 150,000 clicks. If you can I would recommend a D300 (I'm not sure what the used prices are for this body). This has a better sensor and I've had terrific results shooting at an ISO of 1600-2000 in low light.

-Having a fast (or prime) lens is helps as well. Typical fast lens have an f-stop of 2.8 or lower. This will allow for more light into your camera, but these lens will cost you. You can pick up a NEW 50mm f/1.8 lens for about $125, where as a 50mm f/1/4 lens will cost you about $330.

-When doing night photography one of the other things is to have a good (not cheap) and solid tripod, as well as a shutter release cable. This will take your night photography to another level.