Thread: Most Humorous ATC Conversation

Most Humorous ATC Conversation

Before 9-11, I listened to the JFK Control Tower daily for about 3 hours. I even listened during the ATC Strike during the Reagan years. It was very enlightening as I have no flying knowledge. I still recall several humorous moments. Some moments not so humorous, like when an SAS DC-10 slid off the end of Rwy 4R. My favorite humorous episode, which I'll never forget, was when the pilot of a small aircraft, called controller Mary "sweetheart" and she gave it to him. I'll never forget her exact words, "My father can call me sweetheart, my boyfriend can call me sweetheart, but you cannot call me sweetheart. He had no response; there was a silence for about a minute. She put him in his place for showing disrespect. A second humorous episode was when a TWA pilot flying over Asalt exclaimed, "I'm being Aysalted". Imagine if he said that now. I don't think they use Asalt anymore. It was on the VOR 13 Approach off Rockaway Point. And my last recall, was on Christmas Eve, when the controller told all the aircraft ready to depart Rwy 31L, "Taxy into position and ho-ho-ho". I forgot which year. I no longer listen to the tower, but I'd like to hear from you guys if there were any humorous moments you can recall.

Senior Member AirtrafficController's Avatar

Re: Most Humorous ATC Coversation

I don't think they use Asalt anymore.
    Incorrect. They still use the ASALT Intersection when Kennedy is on the VOR 13L approach.
    Aspires to become an Air Traffic Controller at Kennedy Tower.
    http://web01.jetphotos.net/showphotos.php?userid=31094