Thread: Job market

Job market

The place I'm working for is in line for some pretty steep budget cuts in the coming year. On Thursday, I our CFO said that lay-offs are a possibility. Now, I don't know for sure if my position will be affected and I'll know more in a few months after we finish our projections for the upcoming fiscal year, but I'm not taking any chances and waiting around. I got to do what's best for myself and cover my own ass. As of Thursday, I've started an aggressive job search "just in case". If my position will be affected, then I want to make sure I won't be unemployed in this awful economy.

I work in finance. The job market in finance blows chunks right now. I don't really foresee things improving within the next year. I think this market might be worse than the two years after 9/11, when it was really bad. Most of my friends working in financial services are worried about their jobs and are actively looking as well. Actually, I can't think of one who has said that he didn't have any worries. Some of these guys have Stanford and Columbia MBAs and even they are ****ting bricks at the moment. Things really are that bad out there, especially in my industry. Finance used to be such a stable field before, which was one of the reasons I chose this as a career. However, things drastically changed after 9/11 and it's so volatile now.

Anyone else in the same boat as me? Anyone worried about potential lay-offs? Anyone doing anything about it?

Re: Job market

You are not alone - I was laid off last fall, and I'm still looking. It's a rough market, and while I'm not in finance, I do know quite a few people who have been laid off from many of the big financial services companies, and they all say it looks to get worse before it gets better.