Thread: newbie here - scanner question

newbie here - scanner question

hey guys,

looking to pick up a scanner and don't know anything about them. went into radio shack this morning and they had a basic one for 100 but it didn't have "trunking" or the abilities to change frequencies within a conversation or something. it looked like the next model up for 200 bucks did have that capability. to spot would i need this?

thanks much

Re: newbie here - scanner question

I have the Pro 82-200 and it works great. I'm not looking for advanced features but this is the one alot of us have. Easy to use and serves the purpose nicely. I've been happy with it.

Pro-95 for me it has trunking capabilities and good features for 150 or so. PRO-94 is a good radio as well less expensive.

Radio Shack has scaled back their line up of scanners. One of the biggest problems with then is that most are not very loud. But they are very sturdy units.

Currently I use.
    Pro-528
    (Nice scanner and my latest) different manufacturer for (Radio Shack) good loud speaker good reception) layout and design and a pain. Not very user friendly

Pro-76
    (good reception but quiet speaker) (got it in 1997/98 and still going strong!

Pro-94
    (solid scanner and durable with good speaker but bad scratcy reception on the aviation band and some distortion through out the scanners range)

Pro-51
    Similar to Pro-76

Sportys JD-100 model (Aviation Scanner)
    (Superior reception and speaker) but Extreamly poor quality and design) I have replaced 5 of these over 11 years.

I had a Uniden Bearcat for (storm chasing)
    Good scanner too.
    Senga

I have a Pro 82 as well, and I'm pretty happy with it. Depending on the weather, I can listen to New York Center on 134.6, and I live about 80 miles from JFK. I like it very much.

Not much of a scanner expert, but I don't think you need trunking unless you're trying to listen to police frequencies, right?