Thread: Grainy pics?

Within earshot of MD-80s who don't "Over fly Prospect Park to the extent practical"

Grainy pics?

So I was comparing the pictures I took last weekend (see thread) and comparing them to similar shots on jp.net, with the obvious goal of one day being able to shoot pics suitable for submission. Some of them (most notably ATA and Continental) are pretty grainy. I tried sharpening them, but it didn't really help. Is there anything I can do with my camera to keep this from happening? Is there something I can do to fix it in post-processing? I'm using GIMP right now, but I can get Photoshop at a non-prohibitive cost if it's really necessary. I'm a little new at this, so I didn't want to get anything at any cost until I know I need it :)

Thanks.

Re: Grainy pics?

Yeah, they are grainy and undersharpened (and sharpening will add noise...) Photoshop is pretty much a must, but the noise and undersharpness come from your camera.
    nwa FOREVER!

What kind of camera do you have? What ISO setting were you shooting at? Looks like you had enough lighting to be shooting at lower ISO speeds. The higher you have it set, the more noise it will add in the picture especially in low lighting situations. This is where using a DSLR is more useful because the larger sensor allows you to shoot at higher speeds and faster moving subjects because it retains more light. They still can have alot of noise but not as much as a point and shoot. Adding color also causes more grain. Also noise is not a result a sharpening, its just magnified when you do so.

He is using a Canon S3 IS, and according to the EXIF data, his ISO is unknown.

EXIF:

Make: Canon
    Model: Canon PowerShot S3 IS
    Exposure Time: 1/1600 Sec
    F Numer: F3.5
    Exposure Program: Unknown
    Exposure Bias Value: 0
    ISO Speed Ratin: Unknown
    Metering Mode: Pattern
    Lens Focal Length 6.9mm
    White Balance: Manual
    DateTime Original: 2007:07:22 17:36:48
    EXIF Image Size: 2816*2112