Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I got Jury Duty

I got Jury Duty

It's my first time (Kings County Supreme Court). March 5th.

What should I expect?

edit: March 5th is the day I need to report to the courthouse. I need to call the night before.
    "I can't wait until tomorrow, cause I get better looking everyday"
    --Joe Namath

Expect to get sentenced to 5-10 years.

Kidding. I actually got a Jury duty summons as well, and I have to start calling on Friday.

Is March 5th the time you have to call or the time you have to show up?

I did Jury Duty once before when I was 18. Like, right after my 18th birthday I got the summons. I sat in a big room and waited for a number that I was assigned ot be called. I went into a courtroom and was asked questions by the DA and the defense attorney to see if I qualified to be on their jury.

If they don't like you, you get sent back down to the waiting room to wait to be called ot be interviewed for another case. If you don't get picked for any trial after a week (meaning you have to show up every day and wait...so bring LOTS of reading material), then you get sent home.

If they DO pick you, you go into another room to wait until they have a complete jury. Once that happens, then the trial starts. Pretty straight forward. You watch and get sent back and forth to the room until it's over, which is when you cast your verdict to the jury foreman.

Just don't try to get out of it by saying you're racist. I hear they've been fining people for contempt for that stuff.
    Email me anytime at [email protected].