Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: Last Gig(abyte) "

  1. #1
    Senior Member Futterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Rego Park/Forest Hills, NY
    Posts
    877

    Last Gig(abyte)



    I actually have an external 80GB hard drive sitting here, but my computer stopped reading it and I have yet to send it away for servicing. So, in short, I can't use it.

    Even if I could use it right now, I'm sure I'd pack away another 40gigs of photos in a weekend...which is actually kinda pathetic...

    Any other suggestions?
    "My wife is an air traffic controller. I married her because I've always wanted to screw the FAA." - B. Wulle

  2. #2
    Moderator Matt Molnar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    9,302
    Run Disk Cleanup and Disk Defragmenter...could save you up to a gig.
    Is the drive compressed yet? If not, right click the drive in My Computer, click "Properties" and then check the box that says "Compress drive to save disk space." It might slow your machine down slightly, but in a pinch it will give you a lot of extra space.
    Ladies and gentlemen, this is your captain speaking. We have a small problem.
    All four engines have stopped. We are doing our damnedest to get them under control.
    I trust you are not in too much distress. —Captain Eric Moody, British Airways Flight 9

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    8,285
    Hey Brian send me some of your pics, My baby can handle it... lol


  4. #4
    Administrator PhilDernerJr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    12,467
    Tommy, we hate you.

    I don't think it's possible to do defrag unless you have at least 15% of your drive free or something, which Futt does not have.

    Futt, just delete stuff you dont need. Save some onto CD or DVD, at least temporarily, until you can get more space.
    Email me anytime at [email protected].

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Rockaway Beach, NY
    Posts
    451
    I have a spare 20gig harddrive you could use (keep). Hook it up as a slave until you can purchase another larger (120GB+...they're cheap these days) drive. Actually, I have 2 of them I believe. I have no need for the 20gig drives as they're too small....if you want one let me know. If not, no big deal either.


    Mike

  6. #6
    Senior Member Futterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Rego Park/Forest Hills, NY
    Posts
    877
    I guess I'll resort to what I've been doing...going through all my shots from the first two weeks with my camera and deleting the 40 blurry shots I took of AE RJs at JFK. haha

    Mike, if you're looking to give'em away, I'll be more than happy to take them. I'll be out this weekend, so if you decide to join us, don't forget the hard drives. :)

    Brian
    "My wife is an air traffic controller. I married her because I've always wanted to screw the FAA." - B. Wulle

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Rockaway Beach, NY
    Posts
    451
    Quote Originally Posted by Futterman
    I guess I'll resort to what I've been doing...going through all my shots from the first two weeks with my camera and deleting the 40 blurry shots I took of AE RJs at JFK. haha
    If that's the case and you'll be deleting your bad shots that should free up 30 or 40gigs :) hahaha

    Quote Originally Posted by Futterman
    Mike, if you're looking to give'em away, I'll be more than happy to take them. I'll be out this weekend, so if you decide to join us, don't forget the hard drives. :)
    Brian
    I'll bring them with me if I go out. If it's crappy and no shooting, give me a call and I can probably meet you somewhere...

    Mike

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    1,139
    Quote Originally Posted by mikephotos
    Quote Originally Posted by Futterman
    I guess I'll resort to what I've been doing...going through all my shots from the first two weeks with my camera and deleting the 40 blurry shots I took of AE RJs at JFK. haha
    If that's the case and you'll be deleting your bad shots that should free up 30 or 40gigs :) hahaha
    Oh man, you beat me to that one! :)

    I actually need to start putting my pictures on another hard drive too. Do you recommend an internal or an external drive? All I have been doing lately is dumping stuff to CD.

    Josh

  9. #9
    Administrator PhilDernerJr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    12,467
    Wow, guys, ouch.
    :mrgreen:
    Email me anytime at [email protected].

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    57
    External hard drives are good for backup (storing it in a fireproof safe, for example) or mobility (if you want to take the HD somewhere and the files you'd need would be too much to fit on a USB key), but I'd recommend going with internal if you don't need it for either of those reasons (and don't mind going through the "trouble" of installing an internal). It's a lot cheaper so you can get more capacity in an internal HD for the same price of a lower capacity external. I'd also recommend Maxtor over Western Digital, they're less expensive but same if not better quality, in my opinion at least. :-P

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    1,139
    I confess that I know very little about the hardware side of computers, so pardon my ignorance. If I install an internal hard drive and proceed to put all my photos on it, what happens if I subsequently buy a new computer and want to put that hard drive in it? Do I have to reformat the hard drive and lose all the data, or will it simply just plug right in? One problem I can see is that my current computer has Win98SE, while any new computer I buy will have the newest version of Windows. If I were to say that I am currently thinking of buying a new computer, would that change your thinking in terms of whether I should go for an internal or external?

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Oceanside
    Posts
    2,847
    You can buy an internal Hard Drive and always by an enclosure to make your own external drive. Since I work in IT I would say don't go near a Maxtor Hard Drive, Western Digital All the way. We have Maxtor's at work and they are the worst things around. Whenever we order new machines we ask for Western Digital. I find them to be a much better product.

    Eric
    It's hard to take chances but sometimes it's better if you do

    http://www.southpawcaptures.com
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/southpawcaptures/
    On Twitter @southpawcapture

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    57
    Whenever you buy a new computer, you can just remove the hard drive from your old one and install it as you would in your old computer. You wouldn't need to reformat or anything. Of course, going with an external would solve the hassle of having to do that. You may want to check though, since your computer is that old, it may not support some of the newer hard drives. (Going with an external may solve that incompatibility, I'm not sure; though, it won't transfer incredibly fast because you probably have USB 1.0.) You could probably check with your computer manufacturer to see what it supports, or maybe Eric or me can help you out with that if you post your make and model here.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Rockaway Beach, NY
    Posts
    451
    Quote Originally Posted by jakbar
    Oh man, you beat me to that one! :)
    I had too, he left that one wide open for us.

    Quote Originally Posted by jakbar
    I actually need to start putting my pictures on another hard drive too. Do you recommend an internal or an external drive? All I have been doing lately is dumping stuff to CD.

    Josh
    I do both. As soon as I dump my RAWs from CF to my C: I then copy those original RAWs to my slave ( D: ) internal hard drive then burn a copy to CD/DVD. For important shoots, I'll burn 2 CD/DVD's as a double backup.

    As for internal vs. external. I personally feel internals are more reliable than external so I don't own an external. Of course that's just my personal feelings. Plus, internals are much cheaper. As mentioned above, if you get a new PC you just remove the slave from your current PC and install as a slave on your new PC and you're set. The only concern would be if your old HD is IDE/ATA and your new PC has SATA connections.

    I will eventually pickup an external as a backup to my slave internal just as a precaution.

    Mike

  15. #15
    Senior Member Futterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Rego Park/Forest Hills, NY
    Posts
    877
    Quote Originally Posted by mikephotos
    I had too, he left that one wide open for us.
    I'm too nice. :) It's true though, that's why I said it!

    So Mike, are these 20GB HDs you have internal or external? If they're internal, then I'll have to pass...
    "My wife is an air traffic controller. I married her because I've always wanted to screw the FAA." - B. Wulle

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •