PDA

View Full Version : Plane Spotters in Boston and NY for Radio Report about Sept 11th

Phillip Martin
2011-08-04, 10:52 AM
Dear NYC Aviation Forum members,

I am a journalist at WGBH in Boston working on a story about 9-11 and I am looking for plane spotters in Boston and New York who witnessed American Flight 11 and United Flight 175 take off from Logan here in Boston OR who saw the planes flying low over Manhattan on September 11th heading toward the Twin Towers. What you witnessed as "plane spotters" is key to this report. A polling question relevant to this thread is: Has Plane Spotting Become More Difficult since 9/11? I thank you in advance. I can be reached at [email protected].

Phillip Martin
Senior Reporter
WGBH Radio Boston
New England's NPR News and Culture Station
http://www.wgbh.org/
617-300-2348 w.
617-821-6467 c.

PhilDernerJr
2011-08-04, 02:27 PM
Hi Phillip, welcome!

As I said in my email to you, I unfortunately don't believe any spotters were out and about on 9/11 to document anything, and I'd venture that if someone did come forward, I'd question its validity.

September 11, 2011 was a Tuesday, which means that most enthusiasts are at work and attendance is low. Also, two of the 9/11 flights were out of Newark, which is not spotter friendly at all, and Boston isn't as frequently attended by enthusiasts that early in the morning, not to mention that United and American 757s and 767s are fairly unremarkable, meaning that many enthusiasts with a camera may skip them and let them pass without documenting it.

Planespotting has actually become MUCH more popular after 9/11. The hobby has grown in strength as time continued steadily. There was a period of time where it was somewhat challenging to spot. But as time passed, police in the areas that experienced frequent planespotting became more familiar with the hobby and police encounters became much more smooth and mutually beneficial in comfort.

lijk604
2011-08-04, 06:50 PM