PDA

View Full Version : New to All This But Ready to Learn ...

shamrock838
2007-05-11, 07:26 PM
Greetings to all ...

I just joined NYC Aviation.com and am glad to have access to a forum like this. At last I'm no longer "alone out there."

Since I’m a new member … a little background on moi first. I’m actually of retirement age … though I pass for mid-50’s … really. I’m still working at CBS Television after 39 years … and may retire after reaching 40 years in 2008.

I’m also an honorably discharged military veteran … married 35 years with two grown children in their 30’s. I live in Flushing (Queens) on a direct line with LAG runway 31 … so I always know when the winds are from the NW <grin>. I don’t drive so I depend of public transportation and my own two feet. I’m a longtime photographer and have a circa 2003 Canon D60 SLR with interchangeable telephone lens, which probably looks “serious” … aka “suspicious?” … to the authorities.

I have a host of questions about aviation spotting … including the “national security” aspect ... since I’m rather protective of my rights as an American citizen who served his country militarily and honorably.

At any rate ... I’ll now start posting these accordingly.

One question at the outset: - to anyone’s knowledge is NYC Aviation.com forums monitored by “non-aviation spotter” interests such as security and government agencies who may not have our best … albeit innocent … hobby interests at heart? It would seem logical for them to do so since we're most likely on their radar screens. And how do all of you cope with this?

Any advice … suggestions … tips … et al on all this will be most welcomed. Thanks.

Mike (shamrock838)

PhilDernerJr
2007-05-11, 07:55 PM
Welcome to the site!

We have several members who are employed by various governm,etn agencies, but I would honestly, not be surprised if it was otherwise monirtored, which is fine by me.