PDA

View Full Version : Brand new to spotting

mriggers99
2007-01-25, 02:08 PM
I'm completely new to this stuff. I want to go spotting at JFK this weekend. Ive checked the maps on the site. Anybody have any tips where a newbie should start. Just looking to do some visual spotting, not taking photos. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Also is there a site where I can get a schedule of flights for JFK this Sunday.

Again try to give me tips in basic English ...I'm very new to all of this.

THANKS GUYS!![/b]

Mellyrose
2007-01-25, 02:24 PM
First off, welcome to the site!

For "schedules", check out arrivals on: http://www.flytecomm.com

Go to "Track a Flight" and then drop down the menu for arrival airport to "New York (Kennedy), NY". You can leave the departure airport blank to get a list of every arriving flight on that day.

For just watching, I'd start somewhere like Planeview Park (Point A on the map - runway 4 arrivals/departures in the distance) or McNeil Park (point D on the map - runway 22 arrivals/31 departures in the distance) for LGA. They are the most public friendly and have benches/grass. Bundle up though!

mriggers99
2007-01-30, 10:41 AM
Well I went out to the Howard Beach spot at JFK on Saturday and to Planeview Park on Sunday. Had a great time.....Im definitely hooked now. I took my (now Pathetic) sony point and shoot ...and was basically disgusted with the results after seeing photos on Airliners.net etc. I guess my next question is whether anybody has any tips on a starter camera. I noticed in your spotting maps you guys mention alot of the sites need up to 400mm lenses...should I start there? Again all your help is greatly appreciated...just really excited about getting into this. Thanks

Also I read an article on this camera...the lens that comes with it is up to 300mm...let me know what you think and if I should start in that area.

T-Bird76
2007-01-30, 10:51 AM