PDA

View Full Version : September 11th....5 years later.

Mellyrose
2006-09-11, 08:48 AM
I figured I would make a thread because I'm sure people have things they'd like to share about feelings that may be evoked today. Feel free to post anything pertaining to 9/11 or memorials.

I was not in New York 5 years ago, but in the Army in basic training at Fort Jackson, SC. I was on a detail at the hospital helping in a unit. There was a TV in one of the staff lounges and as a trainee soldier I didn't care what was on TV, I'd watch. Honestly, I thought there was a preview for a movie on. I thought "How horrible to portray the towers like that in Hollywood." Then I saw CNN on the bottom of the screen.

Just as it was hitting me that this was real, I saw the 2nd plane hit live. So many things rushed through my head. I had friends and family within blocks of there....I'm in the army, are we going to war? The rest of the day is somewhat of a blur to me but it involved frantically trying to get in touch with my loved ones and being very angry at my fellow soldiers who were from small towns and just didn't understand why I was so upset. I felt so helpless being so far away. I would have rather been with my friends and family, even though it was not the safest place to be.

Last night Phil and I took an unplanned trip to Ground Zero. It was really a sight with all of the police, tourists, memorials, protesters and the new photo exhibition. We walked around the area and it's just unbelievable how things look now.

This morning I came into work early. It was very strange walking down to the subway and seeing the time and date displaying - September 11, 2006 - 7:16am. All I could think of was all of the opening sequences in any 9/11 movie, TV show or documentary that showed that exact thing with the morning hustle bustle.

Anyway, I'd like to hear how everyone else's days are going.

T-Bird76
2006-09-11, 09:21 AM