PDA

View Full Version : Spotting at HPN

airhagen05
2006-08-05, 01:09 PM
First wanted to say greetings to all the other NY aviation enthusiasts. I'm new to this forum and am glad to have found it as it is a great resource.
I am a student pilot out at HPN and have been spending a lot of time at the airport as I try and achieve my private pilots license. I have also been trying to figure out good places to spot. A lot of great biz jet traffic comes in there and now a lot more RJs are showing up as well. I was wondering if anyone knew some good locations. I've already had a couple of run ins with the WCPD and they were usually over crummy locations anyway. The restaurant and the observation deck in the terminal is nice but I'm not sure they are too keen on cameras.
Also, if anyone is a frequent spotter at HPN, let me know. I would love to join in. I'm going to be there almost everyday for the next three weeks.
Thanks.

Greeney
2006-08-06, 10:57 AM
Traning at Pano?

airhagen05
2006-08-07, 10:21 AM
Traning at Pano?

Yeah. Almost done. I have my FAA check next week.

Greeney
2006-08-07, 01:34 PM
Well congrats! I live about 10 miles from HPN

LGA777
2006-08-07, 03:24 PM
Even though I live in the North Bronx less than 2 miles from the Westchester Co border I have only been to HPN twice, and not in several years. airhagen05, first of all welcome to this great website and good luck with your license, now please tell me a little more about the observation deck in the terminal ? I was not aware of this, I assume it is indoors behind glass ? and is it presecurity ? Thanks, and again welcome and best of luck !

Cheers

Ron Peel

PhilDernerJr
2006-08-07, 03:56 PM
I've been to the deck. It's outdoors, before security, and it gives you an overview of most of the airport.

However, the fencing around it is made up of hard sqaures maybe 3 inches wide that are not very conducive for photography.

Greeney
2006-08-07, 03:58 PM