PDA

View Full Version : DeHavilland Dash 8 - Safe?

fly.mcs
2006-07-28, 05:38 PM
Hey guys, I'm still learning about different aircraft, of course. I've always had a focus on jets rather than props. I've never flown on a prop. But here's my question: After seeing the Dash 8 fly into LGA a lot, and now into JFK as well, how safe are these aircraft? They have always been interesting aircraft in my opinion, but are they safe?

If you've flown on a Dash 8, please give me your take on the aircraft and it's feel/performance. If you haven't flown on it but know something about the aircraft, I'd like to hear from you as well. Thanks.

T-Bird76
2006-07-28, 06:10 PM
They've been flying for years without any major record of unsafe operation. They are a perfectly safe plane to fly on. I've flown then a number of times without hesitation.

hiss srq
2006-07-28, 07:34 PM
They are extremely safe, in fact as far as Turboprop commuters go they have the longest heritage behind them over the 1900's, ATR's and Saab's. I have flown quite a few times between LGA and PHL on them in the process of commuting to Florida to fly when I lived up there and a intresting note about them is quite frequently you will notice that they will drop the gear before the flaps.(alot of times) Quite intresting but they are awesome planes.

FlyingColors
2006-07-29, 11:39 AM
Many times the general public has hesitation traveling on a "prop".

What these folks don't realize is that the power source is a turbine engine, just the propulsion comes from the blades.

A truly massive improvement over reciprocating piston power plant, especially in fuel economy, maintenance, and reliability.

I always felt "turbo prop" was a bad tag. I gives the image of a turbocharged piston engine, like in a car.

Should have been labeled a "turbine prop"

fly.mcs
2006-07-29, 11:58 AM